Follow us
Image Alt

United KingDom

United Kingdom

This article is about the country. It is not to be confused with Great Britain, its largest island whose name is also loosely applied to the whole country.
``UK`` redirects here. For other uses of ``UK``, see UK (disambiguation). For other uses of ``United Kingdom``, see United Kingdom (disambiguation).

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, commonly known as the United Kingdom (UK or U.K.) or Britain,[note 11] is a sovereign country located off the north­western coast of the European mainland. The United Kingdom includes the island of Great Britain, the north­eastern part of the island of Ireland, and many smaller islands. Northern Ireland shares a land border with the Republic of Ireland. Otherwise, the United Kingdom is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, with the North Sea to the east, the English Channel to the south and the Celtic Sea to the southwest, giving it the 12th-longest coastline in the world. The Irish Sea separates Great Britain and Ireland. The total area of the United Kingdom is 94,000 square miles (240,000 km2).

Good to Know

Read the basic info and also some fun facts about United Kingdom! Here you will find everything you should know about the ‘’United Kingdom’’!


United Kingdom

Visa Requirements

Not Needed for UK Citizens.

Languages spoken


Currency Used


Area (km2)

240,000 km2


The United Kingdom consists of four constituent countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Their capitals are London, Edinburgh, Cardiff and Belfast, respectively. Apart from England, the countries have their own devolved governments, each with varying powers,but such power is delegated by the Parliament of the United Kingdom, which may enact laws unilaterally altering or abolishing devolution. The nearby Isle of Man, Bailiwick of Guernsey and Bailiwick of Jersey are not part of the UK, being Crown dependencies with the British Government responsible for defence and international representation. The medieval conquest and subsequent annexation of Wales by the Kingdom of England, followed by the union between England and Scotland in 1707 to form the Kingdom of Great Britain, and the union in 1801 of Great Britain with the Kingdom of Ireland created the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. Five-sixths of Ireland seceded from the UK in 1922, leaving the present formulation of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The UK’s current name was adopted in 1927 to reflect the change.[note 13] There are fourteen British Overseas Territories, the remnants of the British Empire which, at its height in the 1920s, encompassed almost a quarter of the world’s landmass and was the largest empire in history. British influence can be observed in the language, culture and political systems of many of its former colonies.

06 Nights/ 07 Days
Departure Dates:         Month Dates May 12 June 16  

Full Name (required)

Email (required)



You don't have permission to register